054 李白 – 夢遊天姥吟留別


054 李白 – 夢遊天姥吟留別
054 LI Bai – Farewells: Chanting My Somnambulation to the Heavenly Matriarch Mountains

中文原文﹕

海客談瀛洲,
煙濤微茫信難求;
越人語天姥,
雲霓明滅或可覩。

天姥連天向天橫,
勢拔五嶽掩赤城;
天臺四萬八千丈,
對此欲倒東南傾。

我欲因之夢吳越,
一夜飛渡鏡湖月。
湖月照我影,
送我至剡溪;
謝公宿處今尚在,
淥水蕩漾清猿啼。
腳著謝公屐,
身登青雲梯,
半壁見海日,
空中聞天雞。
千巖萬壑路不定,
迷花倚石忽已暝。
熊咆龍吟殷巖泉,
慄深林兮驚層巔。
雲青青兮欲雨,
水澹澹兮生煙。
列缺霹靂,
邱巒崩摧,
洞天石扇,
訇然中開;
青冥浩蕩不見底,
日月照耀金銀台。
霓為衣兮風為馬,
雲之君兮紛紛而來下;
虎鼓瑟兮鸞回車,
仙之人兮列如麻。
忽魂悸以魄動,
怳驚起而長嗟!
惟覺時之枕席,
失向來之煙霞。
世間行樂亦如此,
古來萬事東流水。

別君去兮何時還?
且放白鹿青崖間,
須行即騎訪名山,
安能摧眉折腰事權貴,
使我不得開心顏?

英文翻譯 / English Translation﹕

Seafarers speak of uncharted lands in the East Sea,
Yet all anyone has ever seen of it are billows and fog, nothing to prove such a belief.
South of the Yangtze's mouth, they speak of the Heavenly Matriarch Mountains,
Though around it hover clouds bright or dim, visible sometimes it her countenance.

The Heavenly Matriarch touches the sky and across the it her mountains range,
Her imposing manner rivals the five eminent peaks and eclipses Mount Crimson Gate;
The Sky Terrace Mountains may be a hundred miles high,
Yet it seems it may topple over in the south-eastern corner any day.

I'd love to dream my way there and the land of Wu and Yue visualise,
And take flight across the Mirror Lake and the reflected moon overnight.
I'd like to reflect myself in the reflected moon,
And flow with the waters to where the creek of Shan begins;
There I would still be able to locate where Master Xie used to reside,
Among rippling green waters and occasional howling of gibbons so clear.
Donning a pair of wooden shoes like Xie,
I would in a haze stairs climb as if they are the stairway to heaven,
To rise above on a cliff to watch the sun emerge from the sea,
And hear heavenly crows in the open sky of a summit.
Among thousands of precipices and valleys, hard to follow is a trail,
It's hard not to lose your way in the shade among flowers or come to boulders face.
I'd hear dragons hum and bears roar surrounded by murmurs of creeks,
With fear, the deep woods, forests and stratified cliffs seem to shake.
Clouds livid turn and rain is about to pour,
From the placid waters rises a smoky haze.
Suddenly lightning strikes with thunderbolts,
And the mountains crumble away,
A stone gate to a cave
breaks open in a thud;
Out comes the sun in an abysmally deep blue sky,
On the Terraces of Immortals shines the light of day.
Donning glowing clouds for robes and riding the wind like a courser,
The pagan gods of clouds arrive treading on air one after another.
There is a tiger playing zither while green phoenixes drive carriages,
More immortals appear to their places take.
Suddenly horror-stricken and aghast with apprehension,
I wake up frightened to a deep breath take!
There remain only the pillow and bed that I slept on,
Vanished are the glowing clouds and smoky fog.
Without exception such is the nature of worldly pleasures,
Ever since the beginning of time everything passes away like eastbound waters.

Now I bid you all farewell, I wonder when I could hither return?
Release for me a white deer in a green valley,
So that when I must travel far, I could ride it to eminent mountains visit,
Why agree to bow my head and break my back to serve the influential and the rich,
And deprivation of my happiness and an ear-to-ear grin?

.