英譯【淡淡幽情】

.
【淡淡幽情】歌詞英譯 English Translation of “Mild Sentimentality”

獨上西樓
I come up to the west chamber in solitude

詞:李煜『哀思』(相見歡)
Lyrics: LI Yu – Woeful Thoughts (to the Melody of A Joyful Rendezvous)

中文原文﹕

無言獨上西樓,
月如鉤。
寂寞梧桐深院鎖清秋。

剪不斷,理還亂,
是離愁。
別是一般滋味在心頭。

英文翻譯 / English Translation﹕

Quietly I come up to the west chamber in solitude,
A hook of a new moon hangs above.
On guarded grounds lonesome phoenix trees apprehend the works of a brisk fall.

It cannot be severed, and reasons fail and disappoint,
It is parting sorrow yet sweet it is not.
It tastes of something else in my mind that frees me not.

但願人長久
May we continue to survive life

詞:蘇軾 – 水調歌頭 (丙辰中秋歡飲達旦作此篇兼懷子由)
Lyrics: SU Shi – Lyrics to the First Water Melody (On the night of the Mid Autumn Festival in the year of Bingchen, we drank at liberty till morn leading me to write this as I also thought of Ziyou.)

中文原文﹕

明月幾時有,
把酒問青天。
不知天上宮闕,
今夕是何年。
我欲乘風歸去,
惟恐瓊樓玉宇,
高處不勝寒。
起舞弄清影,
何似在人間。

轉朱閣,
低綺戶,照無眠。
不應有恨,
何事長向別時圓?
人有悲歡離合,
月有陰晴圓缺,
此事古難全。
但願人長久,
千里共嬋娟。

英文翻譯 / English Translation﹕

When did the bright moon come to be?
I raise my drink to ask the azure sky.
I wonder about the palace and edifices in heaven,
What year of which age do they go by tonight?
I’d like to ride the wind to there visit and return,
Yet I fear where such grand and fine architecture is
Must be unbearably cold because of its height.
So I turn to dance among distinct light and shade,
How it must appear beyond the promise of earthly delights.

Soon the moon glides behind the red high-rise,
And through the decorated window of the wakeful it shines.
I know I shouldn’t agonise over it,
Yet why does the moon always fuller seem at parting times?
Life is full of happy reunions and parting sorrows,
And the moon waxes and wanes in size.
Nothing is ever perfect since the beginning of time.
May we continue to survive life,
So that we could the moon’s loveliness share when separated by thousands of miles.

幾多愁
How much melancholy

詞:李煜 – 虞美人
Lyrics: LI Yu – Lyrics to the Melody Dedicated to Lady Yu

中文原文﹕

春花秋月何時了,
往事知多少?
小樓昨夜又東風,
故國不堪回首月明中。

雕欄玉砌應猶在,
只是朱顏改。
問君能有幾多愁,
恰似一江春水向東流。

英文翻譯 / English Translation﹕

Do spring blossoms and autumn moons ever come to an end?
How much do they know of bygone times?
Last night easterlies waft through this little high-rise,
Unbearable was my recollections of a fallen country under a moon so bright.

Engraved parapets and marble terraces should exist still,
Yet altered are faces that there appear.
If anyone ever asks how much melancholy can I yield,
I’d say just as much as a river of vernal water flowing east.

芳草無情
Grass feels not

詞:范仲淹 – 蘇幕遮
Lyrics: FAN Zhongyan – Lyrics to Sumuzhe

中文原文﹕

碧雲天,黃葉地,
秋色連波,波上寒煙翠。
山映斜陽天接水,
芳草無情,更在斜陽外。

黯鄉魂,追旅思,
夜夜除非,好夢留人睡。
明月樓高休獨倚,
酒入愁腸,化作相思淚。

英文翻譯 / English Translation﹕

The sky is blue with clouds, the ground covered in leaves yellowed,
To the water’s edge spread autumn colours, over the water’s green hovers cold fog.
The setting sun reflects off mountain ranges, the waters skies expand into,
Grass feels not, more of it grows beyond the setting sun like uninhibited nostalgia.

Drowning in homesickness, depressed by my time on the road,
Sleepless are nights, unless sweet dreams find me to some rest provide.
Leaning over a tower’s parapets to the moon admire is not for those alone,
For a drink of spirits down a saddened soul makes wistful tears flow.

清夜悠悠
A night silent and long

詞:秦觀 – 桃園憶故人
Lyrics: QIN Guan – Remembering an Acquaintance in a Garden of Peach Blossoms

中文原文﹕

玉樓深鎖多情種,
清夜悠悠誰共?
羞見枕衾鴛鳳,
悶則和衣擁。

無端畫角嚴城動,
驚破一番新夢。
窗外月華霜重,
聽徹梅花弄。

英文翻譯 / English Translation﹕

Secluded deep within an elaborate building is a budding romantic,
Yet with whom has she to share a night silent and long?
Bashful she becomes at the sight of paired mandarin ducks and phoenixes on her quilt,
Feeling depressed she dozes off still wearing her frock.

All of a sudden bugles blare mobilising a town on guard,
Startling her and shattering her latest dream.
Outside, bright is the moon and heavy the frost,
She can only listen to herself playing a movement of “Plum Blossoms”.

有誰知我此時情
Whom have I that knows how I feel this moment in time?

詞:聶勝瓊 – 鷓鴣天
Lyrics: NIE Shengqiong – Lyrics to the Melody of a Partridge-filled Sky

中文原文﹕

玉慘花愁出鳳城。
蓮花樓下柳青青。
尊前一唱陽關曲,
別箇人人第五程。

尋好夢,夢難成。
有誰知我此時情。
枕前淚共階前雨,
隔個窗兒滴到明。

英文翻譯 / English Translation﹕

As I depart from the Phoenix City, majestic buildings bleak seems and flowers grieve.
By the Lotus House spreads willow’s luxuriant green.
I raise my cup to sing you the Sun Gate Melody,
As I see you off one stretch after another till we must of each other take leave.

Although I hope for sweet dreams to your soul meet, hard to achieve are dreams.
Whom have I that knows how I feel this moment in time?
Tears I shed onto pillows and the rain before the stairs
Are separated by the window in between, yet together they shall drip till morning arrives.

胭脂淚
Tears over a powdered face

詞:李煜 – 相見歡
Lyrics: LI Yu – Lyrics to the Melody of A Joyful Rendezvous

中文原文﹕

林花謝了春紅,太匆匆。
無奈朝來寒雨晚來風。

胭脂淚,留人醉,幾時重。
自是人生長恨水長東。

英文翻譯 / English Translation﹕

Blossoms of woods spring petals shed, all in such a hurry.
What help not are the chilly morning rains and evening winds.

Tears over a powdered face leave one intoxicated, never realised are dreams.
Such is my life forever regretful as the water forever flows towards the east.

萬葉千聲
Pandemonium of millions of rustling leaves

詞:歐陽修 – 木蘭花
Lyrics: OUYANG Xiu – Magnolia Lyrics

中文原文﹕

別後不知君遠近,
觸目淒涼多少悶!
漸行漸遠漸無書,
水闊魚沉何處問?

夜深風竹敲秋韻,
萬葉千聲皆是恨。
故欹單枕夢中尋,
夢又不成燈又燼。

英文翻譯 / English Translation﹕

Since parting I know not where you’ve been,
I see dreariness wherever I cast my eyes and ever so melancholy I feel!
The further you go the more distant we become till there’s no correspondence.
Waters are wide and fish plunge deep, where am I to your whereabouts seek?

Winds through bamboo thickets in the deep of the night an autumn rhythm beat,
Sounding regretful is pandemonium of millions of rustling leaves.
Lying on a lone pillow I wilfully dream to your presence seek,
Till lights cinders become, yet not a hint of a dream comes to me

人約黃昏後
We were to rendezvous after twilight

詞:歐陽修 – 生查子
Lyrics: OUYANG Xiu – Lyrics to the Raw Haws Melody

中文原文﹕

去年元夜時,
花市燈如晝。
月上柳梢頭,
人約黃昏後。

今年元夜時,
月與燈依舊。
不見去年人,
淚濕春衫袖。

英文翻譯 / English Translation﹕

Last year at the first full moon’s festive night,
At the bazaar lanterns the brightness of daytime provide.
When the moon rose over the tips of willows
We were to rendezvous after twilight.

This year at the first full moon’s festive night,
The lanterns and the moon still shine bright.
Yet I see not my fair lady from last year,
Dampening the sleeves of my spring robes are my wistful tears.

相看淚眼
We look into each other’s teary eyes

詞:柳永 – 雨霖鈴
Lyrics: LIU Yong – Lyrics to Tinkling Heavy Rain

中文原文﹕

寒蟬淒切,對長亭晚,
驟雨初歇。
都門帳飲無緒,
方留戀處、蘭舟催發。
執手相看淚眼,
竟無語凝噎。
念去去、千里煙波,
暮靄沉沉楚天闊。

多情自古傷離別,
更那堪、冷落清秋節!
今宵酒醒何處?
楊柳岸、曉風殘月。
此去經年,
應是良辰,好景虛設。
便縱有千種風情,
更與何人說?

英文翻譯 / English Translation﹕

I listen to cicadas singing dolefully in the cold from across the gallery at dusk,
The sudden rain has just come to a halt.
She puts out a farewell toast outside a capital gate, yet dejected is the mood,
While I wish to linger, ready to row off is the magnolia canoe.
Holding hands, we look into each other’s teary eyes,
Yet unable to words utter, on emotions we choke.
As I think of the flow of misty waters that undulate for thousands of miles,
Leaden is the evening clouds that occupy the vast southern skies.

As always the romantic fear adieu the most,
How especially so in this dismal fall!
Where will I be when I recover from insobriety tonight?
Perhaps somewhere along a willowy bank, in a breeze under a waning moon.
This time for years I’ll be gone,
What should be brilliant days and beautiful scenery shall be of little use.
Even though I may possess inexhaustible passion,
Whom have I to offer it to?

欲說還休
I’ve something to say yet I say nothing

詞:辛棄疾 – 醜奴兒
Lyrics: XIN Qiji – Lyrics to the Melody of a Shamed Maid

中文原文﹕

少年不識愁滋味,
愛上層樓。
愛上層樓,
為賦新詞強說愁。

而今識盡愁滋味,
欲語還休。
欲語還休,
卻道天涼好個秋!

英文翻譯 / English Translation﹕

In my younger days, I know not the taste of grief,
And loved to climb a higher storey.
How I loved to climb a higher storey,
To reluctant grief express so as to new verses compose.

These days I have tasted all sorts of sorrows,
I’ve something to say yet I say nothing.
While I’ve something to say and say nothing,
I utter: cool is the day, what a refreshing fall!

思君
I long for you

詞:李之儀 – 卜算子
Lyrics: LI Zhiyi – Lyrics to the Melody of Divining Numbers

中文原文﹕

我住長江頭,
君住長江尾;
日日思君不見君,
共飲長江水。

此水幾時休?
此恨何時已?
只願君心似我心,
定不負相思意。

英文翻譯 / English Translation﹕

I live where the Yangtze begins,
You live where the Yangtze comes to its end;
Day after day I long for you yet I see you not,
Though we the Yangtze’s waters share.

When shall the waters run dry?
When shall this regret come to an end?
I only hope that your heart is like mine,
And disappoint not our mutual wistful affections.

.